• 6 Post By wesley

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 08:16 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Best charging curve I've seen yet from a 100kW DCFC

I think I mentioned it in another thread, but there's a free (as in beer) 100kW DCFC near my home that I've been using for the past 3 months or so. It'll turn into a paid station soon, but not before getting these neat charging graphs out of it. Charger doing 150A from the get-go was something I hadn't witnessed before, but apparently it can happen with the right battery temperature - around 25 to 26C.

I've made some analysis in my blog post, but I think much of the stuff are self-explanatory. We have the voltage creeping up, the current staggering down in steps (50% - 67% - 83% - 92% - 98%), the battery heating up at 150A charging and then subsequently cooling thanks to a lower ambient temperature, and the SoC curves doing a nice slope against the charging time.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bolt_EV_Charging_Data_1.png
Views:	287
Size:	61.8 KB
ID:	25427   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bolt_EV_Charging_Data_2.png
Views:	183
Size:	68.2 KB
ID:	25429  

Range Anxiety?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 03:03 PM

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 830 Post(s)
Interesting.

In the video below (also max speed charging), the Bolt tapers at 70%, whereas in your graph (and some other graphs too) it tapers at 67%. I wonder what governs this...

post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 04:08 PM

Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vertiformed View Post
Interesting.

In the video below (also max speed charging), the Bolt tapers at 70%, whereas in your graph (and some other graphs too) it tapers at 67%. I wonder what governs this...