Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First, I am sorry if this has been discussed. I have searched and read a lot, but can't seem to find what I need. Or, I am slow and just haven't put it together yet in my head. I have an un-used dryer outlet (NEMA 10-30) and will have the OEM charge cord coming with the Bolt that I am getting. For now, this is what I am hoping to use to charge the Bolt at my home. Will this work and if so, what adaptor do I need to get this to work?

Thanks is advance and again, sorry for the NOOB question that has prolly been answered countless times.

·
Registered
10 Posts
You want something like this. Caveat: I have no experience with this item, and I'm pretty sure it violates the electrical code in some way. Nonetheless, if I were in your position, I'd gladly use it or make my own. Make **** sure no one plugs anything else into this adaptor.

·
Administrator
3,126 Posts
So, first understand some basics. a 30A circuit can handle no more than a 24A sustained load. The stock cord is 12A maximum whether used on 120V (as it is designed to use) or with 240V with an adapter (essential a hack).

Given the EPA rating of ~4 mi/kWh efficiency of the Bolt, and with the various options up to 24A, here is roughly how much charge would be added in a 10 hour overnight charging session:
120V 8A (Bolt default) - .96kW or slightly less than 1 kWh per hour, slightly under 4 miles per hour of charging. Cost of equipment - $0
120V 12A (toggle on the energy screen) - 1.44kW or slightly less than 1.5kWh per hour or 5-6 miles per hour of charging. Cost of equipment - $0
240V 12A (with OEM cord + adapter) - 2.88kW or slightly less than 3kWh per hour, about 12 miles of range per hour of charging. Cost - <$50
240V 24A (need to buy an EVSE) - 4.888kW or slightly less than 5 kWh per hour, about 20 miles per hour of charging. Cost >$200