Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner
  • Hey Guest, welcome to ChevyBolt.org. We encourage you to register to engage in conversations about your Bolt.
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

Registered
Joined
193 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
GM says that they'll do an OTA update of the Bolt's telematics, based on your VIN. I checked and the advisement was "press your OnStar button" They don't mention whether or not there's a charge for folks like me who don't have an OnStar subscription, but my Bolt is a 2020, bought new in November of 2020 and has about 23,000 miles on it.

Is there a charge?

As an aside, I find it more than a bit stupid on GM's part to not have had 4G capability from the start; the phase-out of 3G was planned many years ago.

What say you?
 

Administrator
Joined
6,460 Posts
Last question first. 10 years ago, Bolt was being designed and 4G was just emerging in trials, 3G was state of art. They have made limited updates in subsequent years and the telematics are not customer feature focussed, nor data intense.

The fact that they claim a software update will correct things, suggests a 3G\4G\LTE radio was originally installed but SW limited to 3G. ATT provides the network for OnStar telematics and GM may have had a contract for low cost use of the (soon to be) obsolete 3G network.

I suspect there would be no charge for any updates, and that the updates will happen automatically. GM is keenly interested in tracking performance of EV batteries, particularly in light of the recall. There is no way they would ask you to pay for them to be able to track their product performance.
 

Registered
2017 Bolt EV
Joined
10,164 Posts
Last question first. 10 years ago, Bolt was being designed and 4G was just emerging in trials, 3G was state of art. They have made limited updates in subsequent years and the telematics are not customer feature focussed, nor data intense.
Are you saying that the Bolt's OnStar module is 3G? It's always been my understanding that it was 4G from the get-go and this whole 3G shutdown thing is a total non-issue for Bolt owners.
 

Super Moderator
2022 Bolt EUV Premier: sold back to GM Jan 鈥23
Joined
2,862 Posts
Are you saying that the Bolt's OnStar module is 3G? It's always been my understanding that it was 4G from the get-go and this whole 3G shutdown thing is a total non-issue for Bolt owners.
A GM document showed only the 2020 Bolt as being affected by the 3G shutdown. No idea why only that specific year, but that's what it said. Perhaps a chip issue back then for the 4G hardware.
 

Registered
Joined
1,900 Posts
Are you saying that the Bolt's OnStar module is 3G? It's always been my understanding that it was 4G from the get-go and this whole 3G shutdown thing is a total non-issue for Bolt owners.
Check this out if you haven鈥檛 already.
 

Administrator
Joined
6,460 Posts
A GM document showed only the 2020 Bolt as being affected by the 3G shutdown. No idea why only that specific year, but that's what it said. Perhaps a chip issue back then for the 4G hardware.
My guess is it applies to all years prior to 2020 and it was a misprint.

There were phones that had 4G radios that were SW activated, and used 3G until 4G was widespread. My assumption is the Bolt has a similar module.
 

Registered
Joined
876 Posts
I have a 2020 Bolt and I don't have an active OnStar account. I pushed the button, spoke to two different reps, and I don't think they have any more idea of what the answer is than I do. They kept saying cars made after 2015 do not need a hardware upgrade, but if they don't have an active account they may or may not need a software update at the dealer but they didn't sound very sure. When my Bolt is eventually made eligible for a battery replacement, (hopefully before next winter) I will mention OnStar question. Until then, I have more important things to worry about.
 

Registered
Joined
1,124 Posts
Check this out if you haven鈥檛 already.
Use the link in the above posting by EV Trek. I did for my former 2019 and 2021 Bolts and both are not impacted by the 3G shutdown. Of course now GM had done a buyback on both of them so it would not be my problem even if there was one.
 

Registered
Joined
876 Posts
Use the link in the above posting by EV Trek. I did for my former 2019 and 2021 Bolts and both are not impacted by the 3G shutdown. Of course now GM had done a buyback on both of them so it would not be my problem even if there was one.
Yes, and when I enter my VIN I get:
"We got you!
If you're a current OnStar庐 Member, your vehicle will receive an automatic over-the-air software update, so there's nothing to worry about. If you're not an active OnStar Member, all you need to do is push the blue OnStar button to get started."
So, I pressed the blue button and spoke to two different reps, and I don't think they have any more idea of what the answer is than I do. They kept saying cars made after 2015 do not need a hardware upgrade, but if they don't have an active account they may or may not need a software update at the dealer but they didn't sound very sure. Not exactly definitive.
 

Registered
Joined
2,168 Posts
Another poster hit on this a little bit earlier. While most of the functionality is 4G, there are some 2020s that utilize the 3G network for specific functions, such as TTY. The software update will be all that is needed to make it fully 4G compatible. This is a total non-issue for any bolt that is NOT a 2020. Here is the GM bulletin from the NHTSA website.

Edit: As I look it over in more detail, it appears there is quite a bit of potential functionality effected...
 

Registered
Joined
5,324 Posts
There is no way they can software update from 3G to 4G as such. They might be able to open frequencies is all. They might be able to move features. The gizmo in the car is basically a cell phone. You can't update a 4G to 5G or a 3G to 4G phone.

I put my 2020 in and it said it was fine, nothing to do.
 

Registered
2021 Bolt Premier
Joined
5,652 Posts
There is no way they can software update from 3G to 4G as such. They might be able to open frequencies is all. They might be able to move features. The gizmo in the car is basically a cell phone. You can't update a 4G to 5G or a 3G to 4G phone.

I put my 2020 in and it said it was fine, nothing to do.
You can, if both 3G and 4G hardware is already there. Service providers can then run on 3G networks for as long as possible, because it's cheaper, and then upgrade the firmware to use 4G when 3G goes away.
 
1 - 20 of 25 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top