Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Or a string bass, upright bass, contrabass, bass fiddle, bull fiddle, whatever you want to call it.

I’m posting this (including all those name variants in the first sentence) because I really needed this info two months ago, when I was zeroing in on the Bolt as my EV of choice. Long searching of the internet yielded few results and no pictures.

I am a musician, and one of the instruments I play is double bass, as you can guess. Here are some pics of my complete rig loaded into my Bolt before a rehearsal this evening.

That’s a 3/4-size (which really means standard adult-size) bass in a Bobelock case with a Bass Buggy attached (the wheels). I’m also taking my own bar stool to sit on, my own music stand, a wooden stand to hold my bass upright when I’m not playing it, and my Gallien-Krueger M-150 amp.
Note that there is still space on the floor of the back seat. I may put that wooden stand down there if it fits.

It’s comfy. I can’t really rest my right arm on the console, but I can drive without any impediments. So yes, the Bolt is definitely double-bass sized!

1E111A9A-90EF-4280-B4D9-6710D43502F4.jpeg 85AEF441-5779-40D1-A28A-7CAF4B50317C.jpeg BD8A8566-57AF-41D4-B09D-ADB37EF9EAE5.jpeg 4F09128D-FB60-429E-8DD7-87A1A07817B3.jpeg E2743A7A-3618-42C2-A366-5F9271BD136E.jpeg

·
Registered
351 Posts
This was actually featured in a magazine article last year. A musician was featured who hauls his bass around in the back of the bolt.

My son’s 1/4 size bass (obviously smaller than yours) fits with only 2/3 of the rear seat folded down, so he sits back there next to it.

·
Registered
61 Posts
This is good to know. I have three doghouse basses in various states of repair. I wasn't sure if I'd be able to get them to a repair shop (Or consignment sale shop- who really needs three basses?). Now I know!

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #6