Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2017 Bolt LT - Gunmetal Gray
Joined
·
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
EDIT: There is a new, simplified version of this post. For information on Factory Radio and Wiring, go HERE.
--------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm putting in aftermarket amplifiers and speakers. I have two questions for the people who customize their vehicles.

1) I need to run 12V from the standard battery into the cabin, to power my amplifiers and other equipment. What is the best (or easiest) way to get a 12V wire (0 AWG) into the cabin from the bay under the hood? I was thinking through the firewall, but as far as I can tell, it's solid metal, and requires drilling.
I'm down to drill a hole in my car, but I'm hoping there's some rubber mesh or other material I can go through to get a decent sized wire into the cabin. (Will be powering 1,500W total of Audio eqpt)

2) How in the heck do I remove this factory radio?? My first thought as a radio installer is to pry on the black plastics surrounding the screen itself, but I don't want to break anything on my shiny new car.. If anyone has done this before, or there is someone out there that has done this, please let me know. I have all the wiring and harnesses made and ready. (I work for a radio company)

EDIT: Both of these issues have been solved. See later in this thread, I answer both Questions.
Answer 1: Reply #5
Answer 2: Reply #9
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,714 Posts
I'm putting in aftermarket amplifiers and speakers. I have two questions for the people who customize their vehicles.

1) I need to run 12V from the standard battery into the cabin, to power my amplifiers and other equipment. What is the best (or easiest) way to get a 12V wire (0 AWG) into the cabin from the bay under the hood? I was thinking through the firewall, but as far as I can tell, it's solid metal, and requires drilling.
I'm down to drill a hole in my car, but I'm hoping there's some rubber mesh or other material I can go through to get a decent sized wire into the cabin. (Will be powering 1,500W total of Audio eqpt)

2) How in the heck do I remove this factory radio?? My first thought as a radio installer is to pry on the black plastics surrounding the screen itself, but I don't want to break anything on my shiny new car.. If anyone has done this before, or there is someone out there that has done this, please let me know. I have all the wiring and harnesses made and ready. (I work for a radio company)
The Bolt EV doesn't have a radio head unit. You're talking about removing the Infotainment screen, which is your interface for crucial vehicle systems. If you want to add a head unit, it would be in addition to the Infotainment screen, not a replacement.
 

·
Registered
2017 Bolt LT - Gunmetal Gray
Joined
·
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The Bolt EV doesn't have a radio head unit. You're talking about removing the Infotainment screen, which is your interface for crucial vehicle systems. If you want to add a head unit, it would be in addition to the Infotainment screen, not a replacement.
Sorry, my bad wording... I mean to remove it like take it out of the dashboard. I will not be replacing the headunit. I just need to know how to get to the wiring harnesses behind it, so I can plug in my T-Harness for my Amplifier.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,714 Posts
Sorry, my bad wording... I mean to remove it like take it out of the dashboard. I will not be replacing the headunit. I just need to know how to get to the wiring harnesses behind it, so I can plug in my T-Harness for my Amplifier.
Ah. I do recall some someone cracking open the dash, but I can't remember where it was posted. Of course, I might be confusing that with the Volt.

I'd just search around to see what you can find.
 

·
Registered
2017 Bolt LT - Gunmetal Gray
Joined
·
34 Posts

·
Registered
2017 Bolt LT - Gunmetal Gray
Joined
·
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I need to run 12V from the standard battery into the cabin, to power my amplifiers and other equipment. What is the best (or easiest) way to get a 12V wire (0 AWG) into the cabin from the bay under the hood? I was thinking through the firewall, but as far as I can tell, it's solid metal, and requires drilling.
I'm down to drill a hole in my car, but I'm hoping there's some rubber mesh or other material I can go through to get a decent sized wire into the cabin. (Will be powering 1,500W total of Audio eqpt)
If anyone has a good answer for this, please let me know in this thread.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,302 Posts
Your follow up is the kind of post that makes you a good addition to our forum... I wish more people would post of the answers to their own questions if they figure it out to help out their fellow board members.

I have not done this myself, this is just speculation.... If you can avoid the hard bits of the system I would probably go in through the ventilation system, plastic ducting is easier to get through than the firewall and you can seal the penetration with some RTV to keep it weather tight, but not sure if you can get into the ducting on the outside of the firewall and back out on the inside of the firewall while avoiding the blower and heat exchangers or not.

Keith
 

·
Registered
2017 Bolt LT - Gunmetal Gray
Joined
·
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Your follow up is the kind of post that makes you a good addition to our forum... I wish more people would post of the answers to their own questions if they figure it out to help out their fellow board members.

If it were me, I would probably go in through the ventilation system, plastic ducting is easier to get through than the firewall and you can seal the penetration with some RTV to keep it weather tight.

Keith
Thanks for the suggestion. With my AC system already being weak as it is, I'll keep looking through my car today to find out if there is any other way. I'll post again if I figure out anything.
 

·
Registered
2017 Bolt LT - Gunmetal Gray
Joined
·
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Thanks for the suggestion. With my AC system already being weak as it is, I'll keep looking through my car today to find out if there is any other way. I'll post again if I figure out anything.
GOT IT!!!

If anyone else needs to run ANY wires from the hood/motor controller bay to the interior of the Cabin, here's your spot!!

Under the driver's wheel, to the left of the brake and accelerator pedals there is a massive rubber circle (grommet) which can be easily pulled back and used for wires, or pushed through. It's about 5 inches diameter.

Below are photos and videos of it. It leads straight to the space under the hood, behind the battery.

Link to Video showing the Grommet location and how to open it:
iCloud

Link Backup: (Same Video, just different Link)
Chevy Bolt Rubber Grommet Video SDHIGH.mp4
 

Attachments

1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Top