Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking to put 225-50/17 tires on our Bolt. Yes, I know about range loss. I have been driving a Volt for the last 4 years and upsizing the 215-50/17 tires to 225/50/17 was the best thing I ever did to that car. I know what I'm getting in to there. But I am wondering if anyone has done it on the Bolt yet and can confirm that they would fit without any interference.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
698 Posts
A typical +1 tire size would increase the width and decrease the sidewall, trying to maintain the effective tire height. 215-50/17 would go to 235-45/17

The sidewall is a % of the width so:
0.5 * 215 = 107.5 and 235 * 0.45 = 105.75 a delta of 1.75mm x 2 = 3.5mm
107.5mm VS 225 * 0.5 = 112.5 delta of 5mm x 2 = 10mm your proposed swap

I am not endorsing your tire swap, but if you are determined to do it I would suggest using this online calculator to determine the best alternate sizes that minimally change the tire height.

http://www.1010tires.com/Tools/Tire-Size-Calculator

Attachments

·
Registered
510 Posts
Tire height is pretty irrelevant in this case. Tire radius, i,.e. how much does it raise or lower the car, is more interesting. Further, there is very little room between the tire and the front shock assembly, so I'd be very surprised if anything wider than a 235 fit on the front, and there would be little clearance on a 235.

225x50 would raise the car less than 5mm, 225x45 would lower the car less than 6mm. I say less than, because of the compression of the flat side of the tire. The speedo error would be comparable - around 5%.

Personally, I'm leaning toward the 225x50, mainly because Michelin PS/AS-3 doesn't come in 215x50x17.

·
Registered
1,103 Posts