Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

I think I mentioned it in another thread, but there's a free (as in beer) 100kW DCFC near my home that I've been using for the past 3 months or so. It'll turn into a paid station soon, but not before getting these neat charging graphs out of it. Charger doing 150A from the get-go was something I hadn't witnessed before, but apparently it can happen with the right battery temperature - around 25 to 26C.

I've made some analysis in my blog post, but I think much of the stuff are self-explanatory. We have the voltage creeping up, the current staggering down in steps (50% - 67% - 83% - 92% - 98%), the battery heating up at 150A charging and then subsequently cooling thanks to a lower ambient temperature, and the SoC curves doing a nice slope against the charging time.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,520 Posts
Interesting.

In the video below (also max speed charging), the Bolt tapers at 70%, whereas in your graph (and some other graphs too) it tapers at 67%. I wonder what governs this...

·
Registered
2,607 Posts
Interesting.

In the video below (also max speed charging), the Bolt tapers at 70%, whereas in your graph (and some other graphs too) it tapers at 67%. I wonder what governs this...
Looks like the tapering occurs right when the battery temp hits 34C. Guessing this would be the variable that triggers the tapering.

·
Registered
54 Posts
I'm curious about this as well. All the videos I've seen of 150A DCFC have shown tapering at 55% and not at 50%. Maybe it's a temp thing, as stated? But that would only explain the taper at 50%, not the 67% (instead of 71%). Maybe conditions were not optimal?

·
Registered
104 Posts
Looks like the tapering occurs right when the battery temp hits 34C. Guessing this would be the variable that triggers the tapering.