Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 196 Posts

·
Registered
782 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

long time EV customer, 1st time Bolt owner - woot - what a great car! Got one for the family (as I have teen drivers coming online (3) in the next 3 years and I love the EV feature set for a teen driver)

I've been driving EV's for about 4 years (Ford Focus EV, Tesla Model S, Tesla Model X). Over that time I've developed my opinions about charging and I'm going to share them here for all to see and learn - LOL

1st off kudos to Chevy on this car - I've added it to my EV fleet and I'm very happy with the car - but after coming from Tesla I find the charging information/situation with Chevy to be lacking.

1. I find the 110v charger (L1) included with the car to be pointless. I highly recommend getting a good 240v charger - either mobile or stay-at-home.

The Best mobile charger in my opinion is a Tesla Universal Mobile Charger (UMC) - the only problem is it comes with the wrong connector - no problem however because there is a company that modifies these chargers and will send you one with J-1772 connector plastered on the end of the cable after removing the Tesla connector (the Tesla connector while a proprietary shape is actually J-1772 under the covers, same signaling and pin-out structure - the modification is very easy and reliable).

Carry one of these babies in your Bolt and you can charge _ANYWHERE_ - it's a bit pricy but worth it in that you can use virtually any AC plug you run into.

see link below

or you can buy a Tesla UMC from Tesla's website

see link below

and send it to the quickchargepower people and they will affix a J-1772 adapter onto your UMC

see link below

for those of you not familiar with the Tesla UMC it supports the following charge rates via various adapters you can buy from quckchargepower and Tesla…

1. 110v @ 12 AMPs (15 amp home circuit) - NEMA 5-15 (just like the Chevy L1 charger included with car)