Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

21 - 40 of 452 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #21
This PID:

MG Current ?,?MG A1,2224DF,(Signed(A)*256+B)/10,-600,600,A,7E1

Seems to give pretty much double the value of this PID:

HV Current,HV Amps,222414,(Signed(A)*256+B)/20,-200,500,A,7E1

Which seems not weird, looking at the divider.
So yes and no. 2224DF only represents while driving, not while charging, while 2414 represents all the time. From my notes:

2224DF - very similar to below, but a little bit stronger, and only while moving
222883 - was MGA Current (2885 is MGAV) (current values are usually /20, but this would probably be /10)
- very similar large spikes while driving, between -3000 to +3800
- almost 0 while still, -15 to -25 but varies rapidly
## could this be actual motor-side voltage or current or torque??
** ABSOLUTE correlations to accelerator position and speed **
- generally speaking it does track with HV current
- don't forget that if we want to compare to HV current, then need to subtract off the baseline current is (about 15A)
- i.e. look at 0 speed, figure out HVC, use that to subtract from moving HVC to compare to this
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #22
Air Temp 0, mode + pid should be 0146, not 0046. But that was an easy catch (if nobody beat me to it), as it is one of the standard PIDs ;-)

I have imported your list in Torque Pro and many things seem to be working well (But, how does one know? If we knew the values to compare with, we wouldn't need this list, would we? :nerd:) I am using an OBDLink MX Wifi adapter in Infrastructure mode. When driving, it connects to a hotspot setup by my phone. The phone hotspot uses the same SSID and password as my home network, so when parked on the driveway, the adapter automatically connects to my home network, and I can access the data from my living room. Very nice :D

What I have noticed is that, after turning off the car, the adapter stays active. Even after the car finishes charging. But it will give back "NO DATA" to any query I send. I am okay with getting back "NO DATA", but I am a bit concerned with the adapter staying active and potentially draining the 12 volt AUX battery. Any idea how long before the AUX battery will be so low that I can no longer start the car?

BTW: interesting to see that, as soon as I access data from the car via OnStar, the adapter starts returning data as well ... for a while, that is.
I'll double check the air temp 0, I was pretty sure that it works as 0046 but I could be wrong.

Interesting about OnStar! I know that with the adapter connected, OnStar cannot do remote diagnostics, and I must remove the adapter and restart the car in order for them to connect.

With WiFi constantly running to your home router, that could use substantial power. I really don't know what the power draw is for that adapter.

What read speed are you getting, BTW? I tried an LX bluetooth module and it's still pretty slow, nowhere near what Torque's benchmark page claims.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,284 Posts
Yes, because it's not correct, it's a red herring. If you monitor over time, it does NOT track as a voltage does, and if you take away the calculation used to transfer to a voltage, it tracks with other non-voltage things much closer than it does a voltage.
I guess you're right — it seems like it closely track's current.

It seems to be hard to find the ideal voltage to use to work out instantaneous power being used by the car or stored back into the battery. Perhaps [Charger HV Voltage] might be best, since it doesn't just measure during charging and seems to most closely match what the battery pack voltage actually is based on individual cell voltages.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
390 Posts
I'll double check the air temp 0, I was pretty sure that it works as 0046 but I could be wrong.
Didn't even try, but according to the official standard, it should be 0146. Don't even think 00 is a valid mode. Maybe it is .....


Interesting about OnStar! I know that with the adapter connected, OnStar cannot do remote diagnostics, and I must remove the adapter and restart the car in order for them to connect.
One time, I saw a "failed to retrieve data" or alike message in OnStar. But after a few minutes all worked fine again without any restart. I have my adapters (2 of them) plugging constantly and have not seen any issues.


With WiFi constantly running to your home router, that could use substantial power. I really don't know what the power draw is for that adapter.
I have my adapters (2 of them) plugging constantly and have not seen any issues. For now, that is .... ;-)


What read speed are you getting, BTW?
When just accessing mode 01 PIDs at 7E0 it is pretty fast:
Code:
2018-01-12 07:11:40.428 PROXY-OBD: Read 410D00<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:40.456 PROXY-OBD: Read 415BB8<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:40.523 PROXY-OBD: Read 410D00<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:40.543 PROXY-OBD: Read 415BB8<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:40.612 PROXY-OBD: Read 410D00<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:40.636 PROXY-OBD: Read 415BB8<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:40.773 PROXY-OBD: Read 410D00<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:40.815 PROXY-OBD: Read 415BB8<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:41.085 PROXY-OBD: Read 410D00<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:41.266 PROXY-OBD: Read 415BB8<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:41.309 PROXY-OBD: Read 410D00<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:41.327 PROXY-OBD: Read 415BB8<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:41.39 PROXY-OBD: Read 410D00<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:41.407 PROXY-OBD: Read 415BB8<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:41.47 PROXY-OBD: Read 410D00<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:41.493 PROXY-OBD: Read 415BB8<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:41.568 PROXY-OBD: Read 410D00<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:41.596 PROXY-OBD: Read 415BB8<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:41.695 PROXY-OBD: Read 410D00<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:41.735 PROXY-OBD: Read 415BB8<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:41.785 PROXY-OBD: Read 410D00<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:41.81 PROXY-OBD: Read 415BB8<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:41.886 PROXY-OBD: Read 410D00<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:41.905 PROXY-OBD: Read 415BB8<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:41.966 PROXY-OBD: Read 410D00<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:41.987 PROXY-OBD: Read 415BB8<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:42.069 PROXY-OBD: Read 410D00<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:42.087 PROXY-OBD: Read 415BB8<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:42.372 PROXY-OBD: Read 410D00<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:42.388 PROXY-OBD: Read 415BB8<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:42.469 PROXY-OBD: Read 410D00<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:42.498 PROXY-OBD: Read 415BB8<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:42.605 PROXY-OBD: Read 410D00<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:42.63 PROXY-OBD: Read 415BB8<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:42.865 PROXY-OBD: Read 410D00<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:42.886 PROXY-OBD: Read 415BB8<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:42.93 PROXY-OBD: Read 410D00<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:42.955 PROXY-OBD: Read 415BB8<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:43.047 PROXY-OBD: Read 410D00<r><r>>
2018-01-12 07:11:43.107 PROXY-OBD: Read 410D00<r><r>>
When switching between different ECUs and accessing 22 mode PIDs on different ECUs it becomes a bit slower.
Code:
2018-04-03 17:35:36.694 PROXY-OBD: Read 62436986<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:36.829 PROXY-OBD: Read 6243686F<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:36.955 PROXY-OBD: Read 62436C012B<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:37.085 PROXY-OBD: Read 62436B02F6<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:37.544 PROXY-OBD: Read 62436986<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:37.674 PROXY-OBD: Read 6243686F<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:37.805 PROXY-OBD: Read 62436C012B<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:37.954 PROXY-OBD: Read 62436B02F6<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:38.345 PROXY-OBD: Read 62436986<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:38.474 PROXY-OBD: Read 6243686F<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:38.603 PROXY-OBD: Read 62436C012B<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:38.737 PROXY-OBD: Read 62436B02F5<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:39.134 PROXY-OBD: Read 62436986<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:39.326 PROXY-OBD: Read 6243686F<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:39.454 PROXY-OBD: Read 62436C012B<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:39.607 PROXY-OBD: Read 62436B02F6<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:39.975 PROXY-OBD: Read 62436986<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:40.104 PROXY-OBD: Read 6243686F<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:40.234 PROXY-OBD: Read 62436C012B<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:40.355 PROXY-OBD: Read 62436B02F6<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:40.726 PROXY-OBD: Read 62436986<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:40.855 PROXY-OBD: Read 6243686F<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:40.987 PROXY-OBD: Read 62436C012A<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:41.117 PROXY-OBD: Read 62436B02F6<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:41.434 PROXY-OBD: Read 62436986<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:41.554 PROXY-OBD: Read 6243686F<r><r>>
2018-04-03 17:35:41.683 PROXY-OBD: Read 62436C012A<r><r>>
As I said, I have two adapters active at the same time, via a Y-cable. One adapter I use to query for specific PIDs, using your list. The other I use for capturing raw data that exists on the bus anyway. Both data streams are collected by a little multi threaded Android app that I wrote, that sits between Torque Pro and the adapters, more or less as a proxy. It presents itself towards Torque Pro as if it were an OBD adapter on address 127.0.0.1.

Now, while one thread is waiting for one adapter to respond to a specific query, the other thread can continue to capture raw data via the other adapter. A third thread services Torque Pro in the mean time. Together this make everything (potentially) much, much faster. The big challenge is to identify the data that you would normally obtain via queries based on your PID list in the existing raw data.

For example, Instant Power can be obtained by applying ((Signed((B<3)&255)>3)*256+C)/20 to frames with header 2C7.
RPM can be obtained by applying ((Signed((E<1)&255)>1)*256+F) to frames with header 0BC.

So, in order to get instant power and RPM, I do not need to send ATSH or a mode and pid. I get them almost for free. FYI: the CANION app for the Mitsubishi iMiev is totally based on raw data, not queries. It does require an adapter that supports the ST command set, next to the AT command set (like the OBDLink LX / MX), though.

I am spending my evenings graphing out data obtained using your list and comparing these graphs with graphs obtained from the raw data. Having fun. Have not been talking to my wife a lot, these last days :eek:

The ultimate end result would be if the little program that sits between Torque and the adapter(s) combines relevant data items into a single large frame, so that Torque Pro can retrieve lots of items with only one call to the program :nerd:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #27
Didn't even try, but according to the official standard, it should be 0146. Don't even think 00 is a valid mode. Maybe it is .....
OK, I'll correct it. :D

When just accessing mode 01 PIDs at 7E0 it is pretty fast:
OK, from your logs it looks like about 18/second with non-22 values, but only 5/second with 22. That seems to be a fair bit slower than what I'm seeing with a straight Torque setup, which is sadly much slower than I was hoping for.

I have about 80 values logged, most of which are mode 22, and getting about 5 seconds per complete sweep.

As I said, I have two adapters active at the same time, via a Y-cable. One adapter I use to query for specific PIDs, using your list. The other I use for capturing raw data that exists on the bus anyway. Both data streams are collected by a little multi threaded Android app that I wrote, that sits between Torque Pro and the adapters, more or less as a proxy. It presents itself towards Torque Pro as if it were an OBD adapter on address 127.0.0.1.
I LOVE THIS IDEA and didn't know that it was possible. I just picked up an LX adapter but was hoping for much faster read speeds. Maybe I'll Y that to my VeePak one which was working great before and do the same thing.

I am spending my evenings graphing out data obtained using your list and comparing these graphs with graphs obtained from the raw data. Having fun. Have not been talking to my wife a lot, these last days :eek:
My wife was sitting beside me as I read this, and I burst out laughing. She read it and did the same. Yeah, I have NO IDEA what you're talking about, LOL. I hope your wife is as supportive as mine :D I have a lot of graphs that I'd love to show you.

The ultimate end result would be if the little program that sits between Torque and the adapter(s) combines relevant data items into a single large frame, so that Torque Pro can retrieve lots of items with only one call to the program :nerd:
That would be pretty amazing!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
390 Posts
I wonder if it's recalculated after recharging -- I haven't done enough to notice yet since I lost my car for a week. Did you either charge (fully?) between that value changing?
As a matter of fact, I had not charged my car in between the last two readings. But I did let it run down much further than usual (to about 30%).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #29
As a matter of fact, I had not charged my car in between the last two readings. But I did let it run down much further than usual (to about 30%).
Very interesting! OK, let's keep an eye on that number.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
163 Posts
My battery capacity is 59.93.

Is there an app that can log values over time? I use EngineLink, and it seems to just display the current reading. What if I wanted to do a chart of power vs speed?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
390 Posts
Torque Pro will allow you to log a set of PIDs of your choosing, either when they are scanned or one after every sweep. But IIRC this is available only on Android.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,284 Posts
Torque Pro will allow you to log a set of PIDs of your choosing, either when they are scanned or one after every sweep. But IIRC this is available only on Android.
Engine Link on iOS can also email its log (a CSV file). It's what I've used for all my data gathering so far. Annoyingly if you forget to email it, next time it connects to the car it throws all your data away.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
163 Posts
Engine Link on iOS can also email its log (a CSV file). It's what I've used for all my data gathering so far. Annoyingly if you forget to email it, next time it connects to the car it throws all your data away.
How do you get EngineLink to email it? I don't see any menu items to do that.

Or do I have to connect to a computer and manually save the CVS file?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,284 Posts
How do you get EngineLink to email it? I don't see any menu items to do that.

Or do I have to connect to a computer and manually save the CVS file?
Pull up the menu to add a gauge to the display. Scroll all the way to the bottom of the list of possible gauges. Not the best interface, for sure.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #36
What OBDII scanner are you guys using? My ghetto knockoff Chinese one isn't reading all the pids, so looks like I'll need to upgrade.
I have a list of recommended ones in the spreadsheet :D

I've also confirmed that the cheap-o $10 one from Amazon is the exact same as Veepak's $20 Bluetooth V3 one. I think Veepak's BLE one is the best one for the money.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,448 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #40
I bought the LELink one. Seems to work fine for me, but I have nothing to compare it to. Any thoughts?
What does your Torque benchmark say for PIDs/second when you are logging almost all mode 22 PIDs?

The VeePak and even OBDLink LX both get about 15 mode-22 PIDs per second (but up to about 60 standard PIDs/second).
 
21 - 40 of 452 Posts
About this Discussion
451 Replies
74 Participants
wesley
Chevy Bolt EV Forum
We’re the Largest Chevy Bolt EV Online Community and Owner's Club. Join to discuss sport mode, reviews, battery range and charging!
Full Forum Listing
Top