Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Chevy Bolt 2017 that came in with a standard L1 charging cable. Recently I got a NEMA 14-50 wall port installed. I'm looking for an adapter that will connect the Chevy cable to the 14-50 port. Could you please recommend any good inexpensive ones?

·
Registered
2020 Bolt Premier
26 Posts

camco 55255
this is the best choice I have found. I made 2 adapters for my use. The last one I got from Home Depot. $ 18 or so

·
Registered
2020 Bolt Premier
26 Posts
Use a 20 amp 3 prong female socket and get about 1 foot of 8 gauge wire. You don’t use the bare ground wire. The red and black wires are hot and the white is the ground.
Do a google search on this adapter there is last of info

·
Registered
2020 Bolt Premier
26 Posts
That is a great choice as well !
note : I’m not an electrician so take my advice with a grain of salt ! Case in point : in my last post the white wire is the neutral ( not the ground ).

·
Registered
3,273 Posts
Welcome to the forum. If you're not into making your own, there's several options available.
I'll usually point people to the my240 two part adapter as one source. You buy this one and another mating adapter to get to your 14-50.
Unfortunately, that one is now out-of-stock. I might need to reach out to Quick Charge Power and see if they will be making more.

·
Registered
3,600 Posts
Thank you. Looks like it is out of stock.
There's the @p7wang option here:

·
Registered
2,668 Posts
You can certainly make your own from parts at any big-box home improvement store. Since the adapter is going from a 14-50P to a 5-15R (or 5-20R) and will be used only for the OEM EVSE that takes 12A maximum, you can use #12AWG for the connecting cable. Technically, you could use #14AWG, but the #12AWG will give you some additional margin. I like margin.