Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm currently looking at purchasing a Bolt. My local dealers (long Island, NY) are starting to get cars in inventory. I've always been attracted to off-beat vehicles. I had a 1962 Beetle (the first model with an actual gas gauge). Then there was a 1974 Mazda RX-3 Wagon, Followed by a 1980 Olds Diesel station wagon. Next came a 2006 Prius (The best of the bunch). How can I not seriously consider the Bolt? By the way, all of these cars were purchased new.

My question is this: Current electric rates in my area are .195/Kwh. What should it cost to charge a Bolt using a 240 Volt charger? Let's assume that I've gone 200 miles before starting the charge cycle. The number that I came up with was ~$12.00.

I'm a newbie here - treat me gently.

·
Registered
106 Posts
The cost would actually depend on the range you are getting out of your car. I live in So Cal, and the weather has varied (but not as near as much as in NY).

During the colder times, I've averaged around 3.5 mi/kwh (the heater really sucked up a lot of juice) and currently with good weather (almost no climate control used), I'm averaging around 5.4 mi/kwh.

Using these two values, the cost for 200 miles would vary from $13 to $7 using $.195/kwh as the cost of electricity.

Hope this helps you.

·
Registered
124 Posts
Many utilities have special rates for off peak charging of electric cars with greatly reduced rates. Best check with your local provider of electrons!

·
Registered
100 Posts
Check to see if your utility has a time of use charging. The car can be set up to only charge during those times. (After 11pm)

I calculate about .04 cents per mile with the Bolt.

Our minivan is about .15 cents per mile. (California gas prices)
My 09 diesel Jetta was about .08 cents per mile.

·
Registered
182 Posts