Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New to the forum. I just lost my dear little city car, 2012 Mitsubishi iMiev, about a month ago to a car accident. So, with the small amount of insurance money I have from that, I was looking to upgrade my little car.
I am a drummer, so my little car worked just fine for gigs in town.... However, after that, I needed to take our truck. Looks like with the rear seats folded down, the Bolt would have a touch more room - and obviously more range. I thought it may be good to get online and speak with some owners about their experiences. I've hauled nearly 700 lbs of landscape block in my little iMiev, loads of lumber, even a 2" receiver on the back and would move trailers around (very light ones) and loads of bicycles.
Does anyone find that much utility in their Bolt?
Also, what are people seeing for battery life and management? Is the Quick DC charging too slow for folks? I'd love to know.
thank you!!

·
Registered
275 Posts
Hello and welcome. I would make sure you get the CCS quick charging option and think seriously about what options you want but as long as the Bolt can take the weight mentioned you should be A-OK and 700 pounds is 3 average sized Americans so you should be OK. The bolt was recently rated #1 in how slow batter degradation occurs and right now you can get a smoking deal on a new Bolt if you look around. You can get a receiver hitch but install is a bit tricky. In general I would say it is a major upgrade from your last car and the only downside is you might have room to buy more kit for your drum set. Seriously, make sure everything fits and if it does the Bolt is a great choice and the back hatch opens nice and wide.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I knew that the Quick Charge was on option on my Mitsu - but that was 2012. I would have thought that QC would be a 'standard' option on a 2017+ model.