Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Edited 6/22 after receiving great feedback!

Disclaimer: I am not an electrician. Use the information below at your own risk. Do not attempt unless you are comfortable with electrical work. Shut off the electricity at the breaker before attempting any electrical installation. Use a voltage detector to test for current before attempting any electrical installation.

My Background: Somewhat of a 'jack of all trades', previous extent of electrical projects include wiring switches, outlets, lights and fans in my home. As well as a few low voltage LED projects. This was my first time altering anything in an electrical panel.

The purpose of this post is to share my charger installation experience. There are many options on how to charge your EV and as a noob it was confusing and overwhelming to me. EVSE, NEMA, L2, ClipperCreek, J1772.... what in the world does all of this mean??? After reading many threads and asking questions the solution that would suit us best was clear: Install a NEMA 14-50 outlet in my garage and get a ClipperCreek charger. This is a very popular and straightforward way of getting a full charge on your Bolt each night.

Some definitions for the layman before we get started:
NEMA 14-50: this is a type of outlet/receptacle that a charger will plug into. It is much heavier duty then the regular outlets in your home... more like (or exactly like) a range or dryer outlet.
L2: Level 2 charging... in between Level 1 charging and Level 3 charging. Level 1 is using the charger/plug that came with your EV and plugs into your standard 120V outlet, you'll get around 4-6 miles per hour of charge. Level 3 are the big heavy duty chargers you may see while out and about that can charge 90 miles in the first 30 minutes. Level 2 charging gets 25 miles per hour and is perfect for that top off each night.
From member DucRider: