Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2017 Bolt. I LOVE this car for a lot of reasons.....but I digress.

I have an account with Electrify America. The last few times I’ve used one of their stations, I have not drawn anywhere near the current expected. Granted, I live in MI and a couple of times the temp was been below freezing. But I still should see 40 or 50kWhr, right? But I’ve only seen 16 or 20kWhr.

As an analytical chemist, I have to wonder what the variables are. I get plenty of current from an EVGo station (I’ve connected to several). I’ve used a couple of CP units that seem to do OK as well.

1. Is there something about about the EA system in combination with the Bolt that causes this?
2. Has anyone else seen this kind of phenomenon?
3. Am I missing something REALLY obvious?

If I’m only going to get 20kWhr then that’s no good....I can get that free from any number of Chevy dealers in the area. And they have nicely appointed customer lounges too. I’ll ditch my account and move on. I really want the EA thing to work since it’s paid for by VW getting caught with their hand in the cookie jar.

TIA for any insight into this issue. Stay healthy.

Dayle

·
Registered
167 Posts
Several variables. Soc, battery temperature, max current (not power) of the charger. 20kW is not entirely impossible. That's why I only go to chargepoint because they charge by kWh instead of by minute.

-TL

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
424 Posts
Two major things affect charge rate: State of charge (what % charge you battery is) and temperature. Our Bolts only charge at max rate below 50% state of charge. In other words, if your battery is more than 50% full, the charge rate will be reduced. There are several step downs above 50%.