Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to electric cars -- this will be my first one.

What are the best charger options out there right now? Here's a review of a model preferred by Chevy Volt owners:

·
Registered
428 Posts
I didn't realize you could go out and choose which charger to buy. I assumed that each charger just comes with the vehicle so that it is specific to each car company.

·
Registered
639 Posts
It makes sense, just like how you can buy aftermarket chargers for some devices, the same should be for automobiles, chargers themselves are a market. Just look at the variations and bundles of chargers for other specific things out there, then you'll get a bigger picture for how that can work into the automotive game.

·
Registered
786 Posts
The EVSE (Electric Vehicle Service Equipment) is not a "charger", just an intelligent "extension" that talks to the EV before allowing AC power to enter its onboard charger. All use the SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers) J1772 standard. Level 1 is 120 VAC up to 12 Amps (1.5 kW). Level 2 is 240 VAC and up to 30 Amps (7.2 kW). The Volt and most other EVs have an onboard 3.3 kW charger and the others use up to 6.6 kW. You don't have to use the EVSE supplied by the manufacturer. You can buy third party manufacturer, a kit (EMW JuiceBox which I have), or build your own (Open EVSE) for less than $200.

The Tesla Motors Model S can use any J1772 EVSE or its propietary DC charger, and most of the Asian imported BEVs use the CHAdeMO DC charger (not compatible with SAE standard). The rest, including the Chevy Spark EV, will use the SAE J1772 Combo DC charger (up to 25 kW). As a preview what the Chevy Bolt may have for DC charging, here is the link for the 2015 Chevy Spark EV Owner Manual:
http://www.chevrolet.com/content/dam/Chevrolet/northamerica/usa/nscwebsite/en/Home/Ownership/Manuals and Videos/02_pdf/2015-spark-ev-owners-manual.pdf