Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, all:

Newbie here - new to the Forum, new to EVs, new to the Bolt, and new to my new AV TurboDX 32A home charging station just installed today and using for the first time tonight to charge my Bolt from 63% battery to 100%.

I've noticed the following: The wall charger unit is warm (blue light blinking slowly, as expected). The cable from the unit to the charge port is warm. The Bolt itself in the vicinity of the chargeport is warm. From the charging stats, it seems the car pulled around 25 to 30 amps at the beginning, but has slowed down as it reaches full charge. Some fan inside the car cycles on and off slowly - otherwise, no odd noise. No unusual notices from the car display. Charge time is around 3-3/4 hours which seems about right. All of this seems normal as far as I can tell.

My question for the more experienced here is that the 40A breaker (on an unused 50A circuit for an electric range in a 200A panel) is almost too hot to touch. I don't know what the temperature is, but I can't lay my palm across the exposed face of the breaker plastic body for more than 10 secs without it being too uncomfortable to continue. There is no hot or burning smell - no vibration or buzz. It is just hot.

Is this normal? The breaker temperature has not increased while I've been watching it tonight. If anything, the temps seems to be moderating a bit as the car pulls less and less current toward full.

Thanks for any advice you can all provide. Just looking to know if I need to call the electrician back out.

PS: If this question has already been answered, feel free to direct me to the right discussion.

PPS: What a great car! It is like the diff between a rotary phone and a smartphone. Not likely to buy a gasoline car ever again.

·
Registered
2,364 Posts
googled that number. 90F per UL.

Also googled that 140F is temp that someone can touch up to 5 seconds.