Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2017 Bolt and I have been driving it for about 4 months. I commute to work and there is no way I am ever buying another ICE car as my commuter. I read these posts a couple times a week and I feel pretty wise about the Bolt and its inner workings

My son just turned 16 and we are looking for a vehicle for him. He would commute to school and to swim practice (20 miles round trip on the highway). Used Bolts are out of our budget range. Used Leafs in our budget range are degraded 2014 and older. Since I want him to have a vehicle that will last through high school and hopefully into college the older Leafs arent really an option. I have found a few used Volts 2013-2015 in our budget range locally. Any one with first hand experience share your thoughts and suggestions on if a 6-8 year old Volt would be a good vehicle? I am in the Atlanta area

Registered
My brother bought a 13' Volt new. I took it when he bought a TM3P and drove it for 2 years until I bought a Bolt then it went to our parents and my dad drives it almost every day. It has ~90,000 miles now and still gets ~40 miles of range in town in non winter months. Brakes still look new. Only issue any of us had were covered under recalls. Sometimes it took a firm conversation with the dealer to have it covered. I would hesitate on buying a 2012. I think the Voltec warranty is 8yr/100,000mi so most Volts should have some warranty left. I would have 0 hesitation buying a used Volt. I would get a Bluetooth OBDII scanner and app to check the cell voltages. It is not a fast car but fast enough and the passing transitions are really good. Don't highway race one because they top out at 101mph while you are stuck at 93 馃槴.

To me Leafs are a big risk with known battery issues that affects 100% of the cars. An older Leaf will never venture far from home unless it is being towed.馃お

Registered
2020 Chevrolet Bolt