Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
589 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I looked to see if this had been answered directly, and didn't find an existing thread on this.

I've been shopping Bolts for a couple of weeks now in the California SF Bay Area, and while most dealerships had EVSE's set up, one did not. They had a cable with a J1772 on one end and a NEMA 14-50 on the other. Nothing but wire in between.

I've seen a few posts claim that much of the charging management for the bolt is already onboard, and the functions of an EVSE are redundant.

Apologies if this is a dense question, I'm new to the electric car thing.

·
Registered
72 Posts
That cord you saw probably is one of the new miniaturized EVSEs with the logic and switching circuits built right into the handle.

What that circuitry does is to not allow any current to flow until it sees a valid connection and communication with the car that tells it what voltage and current to flow to the car. This also protects the user against electrocution hazard.

And, the car will not charge from any cord or device that does not follow the proper standard, so you have no choice.

·
Registered
7,069 Posts
To expound on sharkvolt's reply and to clearly answer your question: Yes, an EVSE is required for L1 or L2 charging. But some EVSEs may be larger than others. The car's software interfaces with the EVSE and draws no more power that what the EVSE advertises as being available.

·
Registered
786 Posts
The "Electric Vehicle Standard Equipment" (EVSE) was defined by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) to be the standard for a safe EV charge, anywhere for any brand. Only Tesla Motors and Nissan/Renault have their own standards. The Nissan Leaf does allow a SAE J1772 EVSE to charge it in addition to the Nissan CHAdeMO. And the TM models can use an adapter to charge from a SAE J1772 EVSE.