Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
332 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So let me kick this off by saying the data clearly indicates that if this is a factor, it's way, way smaller a consideration than say not abusing DCFC or charging to 80% (nominal) capacity-level things. I just want to get to the bottom of this mystery.

I am not an electrician, electrical engineer or even someone who you would trust to install a ceiling fan without keeping an eye on it for a year or two so that makes me not want to lean on my own understanding and want to find out more. I've seen echoed in many places over the years from people who are smarter than me that L1 is worse for your car than L2 and then people on this board really challenged me on it and some were like, "I wish I knew where this started."

Anyways, I got to Googling and the most authoritative sources I could find would only commit to price concerns at running less efficiently. When it came to battery life things were inconclusive and even contradictory.

Here are excerpts from the Leaf manual that completely contradict:

From page CH-7
Water Rectangle Font Circle Number

Font Parallel Symmetry Paper Publication

It would seem like Nissan is telling Leaf owners with these somewhat conflicting passages to use either L1 or L2 charging but then says "don't trickle if you can limit it to only when you need to." But they don't go on to explain why.

So here's the question, does anyone here at least know why some authoritative sources say this? Is it applicable to the Bolt and a general EV thing? Perhaps something less relevant depending on the car?

I'd really love to learn more about this.

·
Super Moderator
2020 Chevrolet Bolt
2,033 Posts