Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m a recently retired electrical engineer. I’ve been enthusiastic about EVs for over 30 years, but knew they wouldn’t catch on without better batteries. Ever since that problem was solved, I’ve been dreaming of my first EV. My wife is a teacher, and has two more years to retire. Was hoping to wait until then to upgrade to EV, hoping for more choices, and keeping our 98 Toyota Avalon alive until such time. My son, home for the summer from college, changed our plans when he totaled the Avalon. I did an exhaustive comparison of small ICE and hybrid SUVs, the Volt, and (just for comparison) the Bolt, which I was sure I couldn’t afford. Among other cars, I contemplated 2014 Hondas with about 80,000 miles for about $14K … frustrating. Teslas were for folks with lots more cash than I had. I was just about decided on a Volt, since we live in a small town far from the big city, and thus I had range anxiety. In no way did I think I had enough for a Bolt, but one day, poring over the ads, I saw a ‘17 Bolt listed for $17,999. My daughter saw it too, and said “Dad, you’ve wanted one for your entire life!” How could I ignore her! It squeaked in just below my absolute top end budget. I figured that long trips wouldn’t be a problem, since retired, I can now afford to stop and charge for 3 hrs on the way to Denver, some 250 miles away. So … here I am!

·
Registered
2017 Chevy Bolt EV Premium - Metallic Grey
59 Posts