Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ve had my 2018 Bolt for 2 years and I’ve put over 86000 miles on it. I’m a Lyft/Uber driver.
I started hearing a rattling noise from the left front side and took it to the dealer today. They said the gearbox is shot and the struts need to be replaced.
Total cost $2700!
Of course the warranties have all expired.
I unfortunately leased this vehicle and have to come up with $25000 plus taxes next year. I hope I didn’t lease a lemon.
Anyone else had similar problems?

·
Registered
1,567 Posts
You may be covered under the 8-year, 100,000 warranty, which covers a lot more than just the battery.

The warranty booklet for my 2020 Bolt lists “Electric drive unit assembly electric motors, and all internal components“.

The “gearbox” is a single unit, the electric drive unit assembly, which has both the electric motor and the fixed gears in one housing.

I’m not a GM warranty expert, but I would find out exactly which components have failed and need repairs, and then contact Chevy Customer Assistance Center, 1-877-486-5846.

With a $2,700 repair bill it’s certainly worth a phone call. Also, check your 2018 warranty booklet for the exact wording in that booklet, it may not be identical to what I have for my 2020 Bolt.

In my warranty booklet the pertinent paragraph is headed Electric/Hybrid Drive Unit.

Good luck!

Also, manufacturers sometimes extend free or reduced cost repairs even if a vehicle is no longer covered under warranty. That may or may not be the case for your repair, but asking doesn’t cost anything.

Please provide an update once you know more, as others may encounter this same repair issue down the road.

·
Registered
4,203 Posts
"Gearbox"??? It's hard to imagine what could go wrong with that, and even if it does it ought to be covered by the powertrain warranty.