Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone I need some help. I have had some previous poor experiences with ev cars. I want to get the bolt, I love everything about it. My issue is I drive on average 80 miles a day. I plan on getting a level 2 charger at home. On my last ev car it couldn't handle it even with charging at work. I know a lot of the ev aren't meant to be driven that much everyday. Do you guys know if the bolt will be able to handle that? Please advise

·
Registered
862 Posts
80 miles/day = piece of cake
You could charge every other day if you wanted and still have a buffer.

What makes you think they aren't meant to be driven that much? The more you drive, the more you save over the cost of operating an ICE vehicle.

·
Registered
782 Posts
80 miles round trip is a no-brainer in the Bolt - 160 miles round trip would be fine 98% of the time but I'd need to learn more about your daily commute.

80 miles round trip = ~20 kWh of battery use/day, worse case would be 28 kWh of use - Bolt has a 60 kWh battery you'll be fine.

charging will use 10% juice to charge the car so you'll use 22-31 kWh day to charge the car

if you find out your utility bill your worse case daily charing cost will be 31 * $.$$/kWh - probably less.

·
Premium Member
787 Posts
Hey everyone I need some help. I have had some previous poor experiences with ev cars. I want to get the bolt, I love everything about it. My issue is I drive on average 80 miles a day. I plan on getting a level 2 charger at home. On my last ev car it couldn't handle it even with charging at work. I know a lot of the ev aren't meant to be driven that much everyday. Do you guys know if the bolt will be able to handle that? Please advise