Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
1,559 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hm... would make a lot of sense to buy the house with Tesla solar roof! Overbuild the capacity to allow 2 EVs per home.

·
Registered
3,179 Posts

·
Registered
1,017 Posts
I'm just beginning to research solar. The first site I came across on this subject shows Tesla has 1.7 stars out of 5 and the reviews were pretty consistently negative. The site shows Tesla as the 2nd most expensive out of 14 companies.

Are Tesla panels the best solar panels to buy? | SolarReviews
This is probably from the old solar city reviews when they ripped off customers with leases. Tesla solar is actually one of the cheapest right now and is very upfront with their costs. When I got a quote they told me $10,000 over the best quote I got, but they said they will price match. Now they have a great online price and you don't need to haggle. I much prefer that model.

·
Registered
214 Posts
I can't speak to Tesla solar panel systems. I totally second the thought that anyone considering solar consider the proportion of electric energy consumed by EVs.
Our two EVs consume about 1/4 of our electricity. Thus our solar panel installation was upsized from about 34 panels to 45. In Texas where net-metering is based on contracts with commercial electric providers, it is pretty critical to come close to providing 100% of your electric power with new solar.

·
Registered
373 Posts
This is probably from the old solar city reviews when they ripped off customers with leases. Tesla solar is actually one of the cheapest right now and is very upfront with their costs. When I got a quote they told me $10,000 over the best quote I got, but they said they will price match. Now they have a great online price and you don't need to haggle. I much prefer that model.