Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I live in Berkeley and work in San Francisco. I can't swing a dead cat without hitting an EV charger. Came home (which I rent btw) on Tuesday with an LT (with DC charging option). My initial resistance to the home charger was the dealer telling me it's $700 and my thinking installation might be an additional $500. This site has been great in letting me know about cheaper solutions. Thanks, but I'm still going to try not to buy one and am open to any advice. I'm new to the EV world. There happens to be a charger in a lot across the street from my office that is easily accessible. I don't typically drive but will now at least once a week and get charged. There are chargers in Berkeley near movie theaters and cafes I frequent. I've got easy 110 access from the house which I've use to top off each night.

I know that the ideal scenario is to mostly drain the battery but that's unlikely to work in my situation and I'm leasing for 3 years.

Any advice? Anyone else doing something similar?

·
Registered
106 Posts
I'm in a similar boat as you. I own an LT with a fast DC charging option, and currently am using only 120 V charging at home. My commute daily uses about 50 miles or so of range, and find that my nightly 12 hours or so of charging is enough to meet my needs with full charge occurring on the weekend sometime.