Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there , Im new on here and its my first time that I ever participated on a trend, I just bought a Bolt yesterday , and drove it around for 150 km my battery indicator showed that I had remaining 142 km balance . At 8PM i plugged the car into a 110V wall plug and left the car all night , today morning at 9AM , exactly 13 hours later I come out to my car and the indicator shows that I have 162 km left. I went straight to the dealer and the sales person told me that he had no experience with this issue. They let me plug into the SuperCharger and within 30 minuits I was able to get 200 km charge on the car . It allowed me to get around for the day.
Am I doing something wrong? Does the 110V plug work or is this normal? The weather in Montreal yesterday was -5 C and the car was parked outdoors.

Please help do I have a lemon? or is there some setting I need to activate?

John

·
Registered
67 Posts
The 120V (Level 1) is quite slow. If driving 150 km a day is normal for you, then you will need to install a much faster Level 2 charger in your home. With a Level 2 charger you can recharge your battery to full overnight, even from a nearly empty state.

The 142 km when you parked last night was an estimate based on temperature, your driving style, and use of the climate controls, which can use up a lot of power. The overnight charge would have topped you up to a certain extent (definitely not full). The 162 km range in the morning was also just an estimate. You probably got more than 20 km worth of charge into your battery overnight, but the colder morning temperature would have reduced your estimated range.

·
Registered
3,620 Posts
if you just plugged it in, it defaulted to 8 amps. outdoors with the cold weather it used the less than 1000 watts just to keep the battery conditioned.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4