Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, let me confess I'm a noob when it comes to how to optimize regenerative braking -- we've had the Bolt for a week, and I've never had any hybrid before... My apologies if these are obvious questions.

My questions are around when/how the Bolt uses regenerative braking. I'm aware of four scenarios that the Bolt regenerates:

1. Simply laying off the accelerator in normal D mode will coast, with a light amount of regen (as seen on the DIC). This feels pretty natural to me, as it decelerates at about the same rate as my old Audi with Quattro (which did not coast all that well).

2. Actually tapping the brake pedal. From what I know, any degree of pressing the brake short of a good, strong stomp (rapid/emergency braking) will just apply increasing degrees of regenerate braking instead. This also feels natural, as if I was just driving a normal car -- only I'm getting power back instead of wearing out the pads.

3. Regen on Demand paddle. I've been actively trying to use this, but I've found its effect to be way too strong. The manual indicates that I can use the paddle while still stepping on the accelerator to control the effect, but I've not mastered that. It also seems a little counter-intuitive to me, to step on the accelerator while also pulling the regen paddle. (And might you be adversely surprised if the regen braking isn't at full efficiency?)

4. One Pedal Driving in L mode: Simply laying off the pedal brakes way too harshly, and I haven't gotten the hang of easing off the accelerator to accurately control the degree of the braking. This might be easier for me to learn than the RoD paddle (which is also hard to use while turning). I do wonder if people get used to driving this way, then have trouble switching back to driving a conventional vehicle.