Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 83 Posts

·
Registered
1,021 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Reading all of the horror stories about dead 12V AGM battery: I figured it's time to replace the 12V battery in my 2017 Bolt which is now 4-years from new vehicle delivery date.

I'm not very good with a wrench. But I'd like to do this as a DIY job. However, presently the sum total of my knowledge is: the correct sequence in removing and reattaching the clamps on the positive and negative terminals. :rolleyes:

I don't have a trickle charger in the event it's necessary to keep the 12V system charged during the 12V battery swap. In order to keep say, the memory for the entertainment system or other things ? I guess I should keep the driver's door open in case something goes wrong ?

Is this job too risky given my level of knowledge ? Should I just pay thru the nose at the dealership and avoid a potential catastrophe ?

·
Registered
2020 LT w/ ht steering
15 Posts
I use a trickle charge for all my cars roughly every 6 months. In each, i disconnect the 12v for the night.

When I did this the first night with the Bolt, I was pleasantly surprised how many settings had been stored.

I think you should try it; Wear gloves. Don't get the wrench between the post and the clamp. After the positive clamp is off, put another glove over it and tape it at the wrist.

What I like about trickle charging is, I can watch how long it takes to charge. This gives me an early warning to any electrical misbehaviors. You wouldn't believe how many "electrical problems" are just a dying or poorly charged 12v.

Doing your own electrical work is empowering. Remember that AC goes "zap" and DC goes "bang". Current follows the path of least resistance; don't be that path.

·
Registered
1,086 Posts
IMO, you should replace it only after properly charging it and testing it.
If it fails, then you should replace it. If not, keep using it. YMMV!