Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
And just put a deposit down on a Chevy Bolt. Haven't ordered one yet, as I'm having second thoughts and was wondering if anyone can convince me.

So yeah, I'm a driving instructor in Ontario and drive about 65,000 KM a year. The bolt is the only electric car with the range to do my job, as I usually use 200-300 tops KM worth of gas a day.

Currently my car is a Ford Cmax hybrid and I fill up at around 45 bucks every 3 days. My main question is for cost...reading around, it seems that it would cost around 7-8 bucks to fully charge the Bolt with Ontario rates, and I'd have to charge it every day (although not from absolutly drained) That gives me decent savings, but does anyone else charge theirs every day or every other day?

Any other concerns I should have while planning on driving that much with a fairly new kind of car?

I know this is all over the place, thanks for any help!

·
Registered
121 Posts
Translating this into American:

He drives 40K miles per year, and his daily commute is 125 - 185 miles each day.

Sounds like you're going to use roughly (very roughly) 40 kWh each day, which is 2/3rds of the battery. Looks like charging rates in Ontario vary depending on when you are charging, and I can't really tell what off-peak is, but according to this link mid-peak rates are 10c per kWh, that's about $4 per day. Off peak would be less, on-peak more.

So about $12 per 3 day period instead of $45.

I think it's very common to charge the car every night at home.

·
Registered
72 Posts
The Bolt should handle that easily.
You should even be able to set the charge level to 90%. (Hilltop mode) Which should give you over 200 miles of range each day, and still not overcharge the battery. In colder weather, if you need more range for safety, you could set it back to full charge in the winter.

·
Registered
4,777 Posts
The Bolt should handle that easily.