Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Sub + Amp install guide, done by a noob

This is my first time installing audio equipment into a car. Audio shop wanted to charge me 100$ for installation, so i spent a couple days watching youtube vidoes and researching how do do it myself.

These are just some tips on how I did it, I'm not a professional but have some electrical common sense.

For 12V+ A hole can easily be made in the rubber firewall grommet to pass the wire through, i used a round file for this

For 12V- I used the screw hole where the spare tire foam filler attaches to the chassis, scrapped the paint off and installed a nut and bolt with ring terminal holding the wire in place

I used a line output converter to get signal from rear speakers to the amp. Left rear speaker wire colors are (+)green and (-)green black stripe. Right rear Speaker (+) white wire (-)blue wire with black stripe. The quarter panels pop off easily and the insulation on the wiring to the rear door will need to be cut to access the speaker wires. I used T-tap connectors to pick up the speaker signals

For the "Remote on" for the amp, i'm running a wire from the (+) pin of the 12V socket, so that the amp turns on when the car turns on(its just a relay). I modified a 12V USB car charger to achieve this(opened it up, soldered wire to the positive pin)

I screwed the amp directly to the foam filler, seems sturdy enough.

The wires can be neatly tucked away under the panels or carpets or in the seat seams.