Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Super Moderator
2,564 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have never had heated seats, or a heated steering wheel in any car I have owned. I live in California and pretty much avoid anywhere it snows as much as possible. These features always seemed like they were aimed at people in Milwaukee or some place like that. The few cars I have ridden in, or rented with heated seats always seemed like they were way to hot and uncomfortable for me.

Having said all that, I have read that heated seats and steering wheel is a more efficient way of heating a person than the traditional heater, so in the case of a BEV, they are more energy efficient. It is only a $555 option on the Bolt, but this car is already silly stupid expensive for me, so I'm trying to keep a lid on it, so given my experience and my usage, I'm inclined to skip it.

Am I being foolish? I have zero EV experience, so is this an awesome option for extending range? Will I come to find it a go to feature in the winter?

Thanks for the feedback.

·
Registered
94 Posts
The wife's car has seat warmers and when it's really cold out we use them. It's cool on the Bolt when I pre heat the car with the app or fob the seats are warm. It's been cold to me here in northern cal. I got the car from what the dealer ordered back in Oct or nov and did not have a choice or I could wait and get another car.

·
Registered
100 Posts
I have never had heated seats, or a heated steering wheel in any car I have owned. I live in California and pretty much avoid anywhere it snows as much as possible. These features always seemed like they were aimed at people in Milwaukee or some place like that. The few cars I have ridden in, or rented with heated seats always seemed like they were way to hot and uncomfortable for me.