Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I just bought a new 2021 bolt and it just hit 2000 miles. I noticed a high pitched "static" type of noise when accelerating and regenning. I'm new to EVs but this doesn't seem like it should be normal. The link shows the noise I'm talking about but it is somewhat hard to hear in the video. The first second of accelerating is when it's easiest to hear. If anyone could help me out on whether I just need to take it to the dealer or not would be great. Thanks guys.

VIDEO LINK

·
Registered
1,979 Posts
Sounds like it could be "coil whine". I see that complaint with other EV's but not usually with the Bolt.

·
Registered
5,157 Posts

·
Registered
1,277 Posts
My 2019 had a high pitched whistle when you first step on the accelerator lightly. It could only be heard when you are near a wall with the driver's window down (I had the pedestrian sound disabled on mine). Sounds like pressing the trigger on an electric drill very lightly. That's normal. Don't know if that's what you are referring to but I didn't hear it in your video.

Mike

·
Registered
20 Bolt LT
116 Posts
Sounds like the pedestrian alert noise to me, which some have referred to as the "Cylon Raiders" sound. Compared to my 2017, on the 2020 it sounds a bit louder and sounds up to about 17mph instead of 14mph.

·
Registered
2021 Bolt LT
143 Posts
you could temporarily pull the fuse and see if that is indeed the noise your hearing. if it goes away the noise has been identified

Underhood fuse 34

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·