Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
368 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
And it will end, perhaps this month or perhaps a year or two from now (if current law remains unchanged). When it does, how should/will GM respond?

1. Reduce Bolt prices by ~$5k - $7k, to keep net cost to customers the same, and maintain sales volume? (Note: not all customers qualify for the tax credit.)
2. Leave Bolt prices unchanged, and accept the drastic reduction in US sales volume that will naturally result? Maybe sell the Bolt more in foreign markets?
3. Reduce prices, but by a smaller amount, and get a result somewhere in between? Perhaps this would maximize GM's net profit?
4. Something else?

It's been a long time since I studied economics, but I'd guess #3 is the best decision. Maybe a price cut of around $3k, very soon after the tax credits end.

What do you think GM will do?

·
Registered
3,777 Posts
GM is on track for credits to expire around Q3 2019, which is roughly when the other big players will also face credit expiration (Tesla, Nissan). Ford, BMW, and Toyota are expected to expire around the middle of 2021. As companies consume their credits, other brands will have EV offerings, and those will become more popular. The executive office will be Democrat by then, unless they try to run H again. The new administration may create a new credit, which won't be as large as the current credit, but likely just as anti-progressive (only the wealthy have the means to take advantage of the credit). It really should be cash credited directly to the purchase price, regardless of tax liability (assuming the subsidy is the best use of taxpayer money).

Rumor has it that the marginal cost (direct materials and labor cost) to produce each Bolt is greater than GM generates from sales. If that's true, there is no room to reduce the price. GM would have to figure out how to massively reduce the marginal cost.