Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm fairly new to all this EV stuff and as I wait patiently for my Bolt to arrive, I've been reading up on solar and wind power for the home. While researching wind power, I see many wind turbines using things like permanent magnet generators to produce the power off the wind as the turbine turns. So this got me thinking - why aren't there any permanent magnet generators (or similar) built into all 4 wheels of EV's? Regenerative braking works to recharge the batter as the car is slowed down, but on wind turbines, just the rotation of the blades produces the power.

Colour me curious.....

·
Registered
168 Posts
I was trying to come up with an elegant response to this, but basically the reason why is the conservation of energy. It requires energy to turn the wheels or the blades in the case of the wind turbine. Adding a generator into the wheels would require more energy to turn the wheels (the additional energy required would be more than the amount of energy being returned by the generator).

·
Registered
639 Posts
I like to think with products like cars its all a chess game, they want to do enough but not too much. There's planning that happens years well ahead of a models release so you bet Chevy already has things scheduled for specific years as long as competition evolves as they projected.

·
Registered
862 Posts