Chevy Bolt EV Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello.

Will the chevy cruze 16” wheels with 205/60r16 tires fit the bolt?

I’m thinking of putting bridgestone blizzak ws80 for winter tires.

Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
115 Posts
They should work fine, I run Sonic wheels- ALY5525U45 Chevrolet Sonic Wheel Black Painted #95937973- 16 X6 with the same tire size
Michelin X Ice3's 205/60R16

The Sonic, Cruze, Volt and Bolt have the same lug/bolt pattern, 5x105mm Keep an eye on the offset, anything from 38mm to 44mm(stock) should work fine.

If you have the Driver Confidence Package with SBZA, see my post here as you may get some false alerts
http://www.chevybolt.org/forum/12-wheels-tires-brakes-suspension/18994-sonic-16-s-205-xice3-s-using-quick-jack.html
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
306 Posts
Cruze wheels are a little more expensive, you can get 16" Sonic wheels for cheap, my wheels cost me 250 shipped to my door.

I had these wheels and sensors on my Trax then on a Buick Encore now they are on the Bolt.

I'm using Cooper 205/65/16 tires they are about a 1/2" shorter than the stock Bolt 17's
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
99 Posts
My 2018 Bolt premier is not ready yet (hopefully at end of February or beginning of March).

I already bought a set of Michelin X-ice3 215/50R17. Called the dealer regarding buying a set of stock/OEM (premier) wheels and tpms sensors but they can’t sell it to me yet because I don’t have a VIN number. It’s okay.. just a matter of time :)

As for the stock tires, I’m swapping them right away with a set of Nokian WRG4s when I take delivery of the car. :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
306 Posts
My 2018 Bolt premier is not ready yet (hopefully at end of February or beginning of March).

I already bought a set of Michelin X-ice3 215/50R17. Called the dealer regarding buying a set of stock/OEM (premier) wheels and tpms sensors but they can’t sell it to me yet because I don’t have a VIN number. It’s okay.. just a matter of time :)

As for the stock tires, I’m swapping them right away with a set of Nokian WRG4s when I take delivery of the car. :)
I would search the net for new take off wheels, you can save yourself a ton of money over paying dealer prices for new wheels.

I would pick a different looking wheel rather than the wheel that every one who bought a new Bolt has on their car.

I particularly like the Chevy Cruze 17" 5 spoke wheel, if I didn't already have a set or 18's to fit my car I would buy them.

Here is an example of the wheel I would choose but not at this price, https://www.ebay.com/itm/Set-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016-Chevrolet-Cruze-OEM-Factory-17-OE-Wheels-Rims-5522/253384147583?hash=item3afedf427f:g:MmwAAOSw4DxaZlWZ&vxp=mtr
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,785 Posts
Called the dealer regarding buying a set of stock/OEM (premier) wheels and tpms sensors but they can’t sell it to me yet because I don’t have a VIN number.
Yeah, when I ordered my wheels from the parts department at my GM dealer they needed the VIN number to make sure they got the correct part. It turned out that there had been some manufacturing change about two weeks before my car was built and so they had to order a slightly different part number for the wheels. I have no idea what the change was, but it seems that the VIN is required to suss out these kinds of things.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
99 Posts
Yeah, when I ordered my wheels from the parts department at my GM dealer they needed the VIN number to make sure they got the correct part. It turned out that there had been some manufacturing change about two weeks before my car was built and so they had to order a slightly different part number for the wheels. I have no idea what the change was, but it seems that the VIN is required to suss out these kinds of things.
Thanks Sean!
Yes I figured the dealer soley goes by the VIN number to manage all their transactions.
I tried to get them to look up the part number for a 2017 model OEM premier rim but they refused to.

Upon browsing their website, they do have 2 RIM part numbers listed for the 2017 model premier. I'm thinking it's the part numbers for the lighter color rim (LT) and a darker (Premier) I had the parts guy look that up but he said to me that his computer is not able to identify which is which :confused:

I'll just wait until I get my VIN number :D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,931 Posts
^ A work associate recently had to order a new replacement OEM rim for his 2-yr old Volvo ($650 yikes!!) they required his VIN too... guess that's common nowadays.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
99 Posts
^ A work associate recently had to order a new replacement OEM rim for his 2-yr old Volvo ($650 yikes!!) they required his VIN too... guess that's common nowadays.
I bent a gold rim off one of my Subaru STis a few years ago. Ran over something on the road during the time when my neighbourhood was new and still in development. Rim couldn’t be fixed so a new one set me back $$$(edit: expensive). :|
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
306 Posts
My guess the part number changed on the wheel because they switched manufactures, the design is the same so are the wheels specs.

If it were me I would pick up a set of cheap wheels, being that they are going to be subjected to winter and all the road chemicals and salt used today.

I bought new take off wheels off a Chevy spark for my snows, I noticed today that the paint is starting to bubble on one of the wheels.

This winter will be the 3rd winter they are on one of my winter cars, I don't leave my wheels on the car I take them off between snow storms.

These wheels have been on a Chevy Trax, then on a Buick Encore, and now the Bolt, but they didn't stay on the car very long, buy cheaper wheels for snows those wheels cost me 250 shipped for 4 of them.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,415 Posts
FWIW, I got a set of like-new 16" steel wheels and covers from a Cruze for $100 craigslist. The TPMS sensors were $65 on eBay. They don't stay synced to the Bolt and I've had the same problem with same type on the '11 Cad SRX. So make sure buying genuine GM part number TPMS sensors. The generics DO NOT ALWAYS STAY IN SYNC, even when programmed by the tire shop commercial gadget.

jack vines
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
306 Posts
I have been buying my TPMS sensors by GM part number for the car I need them for.

If you buy for a particular brand like Cadillac you get raped on the price, if you buy by part number you can get dealer overstocked sensors much cheaper.

I was paying nearly a 100 for a set in the early days, now most sets I buy are in the 40 to 50 dollar range.

There are 2 types of sensors, one type only puts on the light, the second type gives you tire pressure information.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
35 Posts
I want to make it possible to put cable chains on my Bolt. I am in California and CalTrans frequently posts "chains on all vehicles except 4 wheel drive with snow tires"on the mountain roads during snowstorms. To get up to the mountains under these conditions I will need cables. (Not to mention I have had the experience of driving my "two-wheel drive with chains" past a whole convoy of 4 wheel drive SUVs that were sliding sideways off the road on slick ice) . To use cables I will need about another inch of clearance on the top and inside of the tire. I am proposing to buy 15" rims, and then mount michelin Xice 175/65R15 88Ts. the load limit of 88 is 1235 lbs. Not that much lower than the 91 rating on the stock tires, which is 1356 lbs.
The spec diamter is 24" compared to 25.5 of the stock 215/50R17s. this should give me an extra 3/4 inch, making a total of 1" clearance on the top. Close, but OK if I'm careful with the cables. The width is in theory 40mm less, or 20mm a side. If I get rims with 35 or 38 mm offset I add an extra 6 to 9 mm , meaning about an extra inch on the inside. Of course I lose 3/4 inch of clearance, which is not great, but it the cost of doing this.
Any comments? I would like to get another 1/4" clearance on the top, but can't find high load tires for 175/60R15s. I could sacrifice a bit more on the load I suppose, the curb weight of the bolt is reported to be 3500 lbs?, I won't be adding much more than 500 lbs more going skiing, so 1100lb rating should be OK?
In any case, two rims and tires will be about $400. On the same order as renting a 4x4 for 3 days. So worth the risk that wont work.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
35 Posts
raitchison, thanks for the info. did not know about those. If I need an extra 1/4 inch I might consider them. However the thought of a bumpier ride in my Bolt is ... ouch.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
60 Posts
raitchison, thanks for the info. did not know about those. If I need an extra 1/4 inch I might consider them. However the thought of a bumpier ride in my Bolt is ... ouch.
FWIW, going down to a 15" rim and a non LRR tire will improve the ride so the spring spacers might not be so bad. I just installed some CL 15" Cruze steelies and Michelin Xice Xi3 (205/65R15) tires and the ride is noticeably different (for the better). I know that you are looking to go to a smaller OD tire so you wouldn't have as much added sidewall, but just the fact that the sidewall is not as stiff as the stock LRR tires will be an improvement.

For others with TPMS issues, I went with the Delco units from RockAuto and paired them with the tool and no issues whatsoever. I saw several 'OEM' units on Ebay for 1/4 of the price I paid, but many of the reviews say that although the P/N matches, they are in generic packaging and have mixed results on going bad after a few weeks. Either knock-offs or refurbs. Best to go with new AC Delco with a 10yr battery life.
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,106 Posts
^ A work associate recently had to order a new replacement OEM rim for his 2-yr old Volvo ($650 yikes!!) they required his VIN too... guess that's common nowadays.
Reminds me of years ago I got into a crash and ended up destroying two of the wheels on my Ford Escort. Ended up quite a bit cheaper to buy 4 new aftermarket wheels than to buy 2 OEMs.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
22 Posts
As stated, be very careful buying tpms sensors online. Read reviews, many are knock offs, with GM part numbers. Look for ones in the AC Delco bag.
 
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
Top